Veganist? Plus Allergy Test Results

March 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

So I’m going to start by saying that I haven’t read the book “Veganist” by Kathy Freston yet.  However this term seems to fit me right now.  I’m not ready to completely give up all meat.  I still plan to eat fish however I cannot have any dairy or egg products as I’m allergic to them.  So am I a Vegan who eats meat?  Does that exist?  I’m not sure.  Am I a Veganist or should I call myself something else?  hmmm

I’m going to go over the allergy tests I had done recently.  My mother did this same test last summer and found out she is allergic to gluten, dairy and eggs.  After I had a strange allergic reaction before Christmas I decided I should get it done to.  Luckily my health plan from work covered it so both myself and my husband got tested.

Here are the screenshots.


Cool huh?  Before this I had no idea that I was sensitive or allergic to anything!  I do however think I might be sensitive to Almonds and they didn’t register.  However foods that I didn’t eat or didn’t eat a great amount of can come up as a false negative.  I plan on redoing these tests in the fall after I have had plenty of time on my new diet.

These tests cost $235 per person and have to be done by a licensed practitioner.  However like I said my health spending account from work covered the entire cost for both me and my husband.  The company is called Rocky Mountain Analytical and there is plenty of information on their website.

I’m very happy with these tests but I’m going to miss pineapple…. However because I’m not in the red zone I can still have it in limited amounts.  However I’m going to avoid all the foods I had any reaction to for a little while to clean myself out and start fresh.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Veganist? Plus Allergy Test Results at Northern Raw.

meta

