Questions from Family

March 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

My family is mostly supportive of my transition.  I haven’t gone too much into it with them besides the fact that I can’t have dairy or eggs.  I’m lucky I guess that my mother can’t have these either anymore and my mother-in-law only drinks soy milk.

However I keep getting asked if I’m getting enough calcium or protein.  I have a huge stack of books I’m reading to help me make proper meal plans so I’m not worried about it.  It’s hard to explain to people though who are on protein rich diets.  I think I just need to keep reading and learning so I know how to properly make my diet.  I’m not being strict with myself yet because of this.  I’m going to gradually transition as I learn just how much protein and fat I need to ensure I’m eating every day.

It’s one month till Easter.  I’m going back to stay with my family and in-law for Easter and the weekend after I’m going on a retreat with my mother and mother-in-law.  I’m not sure how I’m going to handle it.  I’m just going to need to be very prepared.  This weekend with my mother-in-law staying with us did not go well.  It’s hard to transition with people around but I need to get used to it.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Questions from Family at Northern Raw.

meta

