Grocery Store Haul

March 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

So I went grocery store shopping the other day.  I went to 3 different places and this is what I came home with.

First I went to Vita Health and picked up some Earth Balance (soy free), Hemp Milk in Vanilla, Soy coffee creamer and some black quinoa.  The earth balance and the hemp milk have become staples for me.  This is the first time I’ve bought Soy coffee creamer and I have had regular quinoa many times but have never tried black quinoa. I’m going to cook some up tonight I think. I spent about $20 here.

Then I went to Safeway and got some blueberries, raspberries, starfruit, basil, celery, mushrooms, kale, avocado, shallots, green beans, frozen fruit bars and some frozen fruit for smoothies.  They had the Europe’s Best fruit on for $4.99 which is a really good deal here.  I spent about $45 at Safeway.

Then I ventured into Bulk Barn to pick up some brazil nuts, chia seeds, flax seeds, wild rice, pistachios and nutritional yeast (which I don’t know how to use yet but I’ll let you know when I find out! I spent about $20 at Bulk Barn.

I think it was a pretty successful trip.  The only thing I forgot to get was some greens but I’ll pick some up tomorrow.  I really enjoy grocery shopping.

 

My work diner the other night went ok.  There wasn’t really anything on the menu that I could have so I just got some yam fries.  It was either that or garden salad (aka a piece of iceberg lettuce, a piece of tomato and a piece of cucumber) which would have looked really out of place next to everyone else’s perogy pizza (which smelled amazing!!!)  I did get some questions from people asking if that was all I was having but literally everything else on the menu was full of dairy.  Even the salads were basically just spinach with some sort of cheese.  I couldn’t even have any of the dips for the fries so I ate them plain.  Boston Pizza is definitely never going to be my choice of eating out.  I probably could have asked for them to make me up a dish of something different but I didn’t want to do that with a big group of people.  I’m going to have to get used to it though.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grocery Store Haul at Northern Raw.

meta

